Skip to content

Kolbe Academy Homeschool Conference

May 17, 2011

I’m very excited and honored to announce that Kolbe Academy, in Napa, California, will be hosting their first ever homeschool conference this summer, and I will be speaking on homeschoolers going out and making a difference in the world (tentative talk title is “Think, Pray, Love and Laugh: Engage the Culture, Change the World”).

Click here to view the conference page on the Kolbe Academy website.

When I was homeschooled for high school (back in the dark ages!) I lived about two hours south of Kolbe Academy, but they permitted me to attend their classes on a weekly basis at the day school and study at home the rest of the time. And thus, I became their first homeschool graduate, even before they had developed an “official” homeschool program. While I gained many things from the local Catholic grade school I attended (they provided an excellent foundation in technical things, like reading and math AND introduced me to beautiful traditions, like benediction, may crownings and processions – which helped me fall in love with the devotions of our faith), it was at Kolbe Academy that I began to learn to *think* like a Catholic and was introduced to important Catholic ideas like the principle of subsidiarity and Catholic authors like G.K. Chesterton. And so I am very grateful to them and honored to be included in their inaugural conference.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 21, 2011 1:12 am

    Deo gratias! this is an answer to many prayers.

    i’ll be there!

Leave a Reply

