Skip to content

The Bittersweetness of Beauty

May 14, 2011

I’ve been thinking about my post from yesterday, {pretty, happy, funny, real}, and I just realized that my random thoughts on the “pretty” category reminded me of this quote from Pope Benedict:

The beautiful and the good, ultimately the beautiful and God, coincide. Through the appearance of the beautiful we are wounded in our innermost being, and that wound grips us and takes us beyond ourselves; it stirs longing into flight and moves us toward the truly Beautiful.

The more I experience life, the more I find this to be true and yet I find it to be such an elusive concept. Very difficult to wrap my head around entirely.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Angie permalink
    May 15, 2011 9:29 am

    That quote reminds me of one I have posted by my desk of Fr. Guissanni.
    “His presence is the best, most beautiful the sweetest thing in our lives.”

    I don’t know if that was the direction you were headed (as I haven’t scrolled down to your aforementioned post yet) but thought I’d comment.

Leave a Reply

