Skip to content

A Few Random Things on My Mind Today…

January 20, 2011

Ron Hansen: Quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. I finished his book Jesse James a couple of weeks ago and am now about half way through Exiles, which is a story about the poet and Jesuit priest, Gerard Manley Hopkins, and how he was affected by the wreck of the Deutschland in 1875 and the deaths of 5 exiled nuns who were aboard. The poem he wrote about that event, The Wreck of the Deutschland, can be read here.

Anyway, Hansen can be make me squirm once in awhile, but on the whole I love his descriptions of people, particularly in these two historical works, as I’m always interested to know what makes people tick. He also simply has a way with words.

Packers: When it comes to baseball, I’m a San Francisco Giants fan through and through. Ever faithful to my hometown. Football, though, is a little different. Sure, I’m still a 49ers fan, but given their immensely satisfying record during my formative years, I was willing to pick up an extra team to root for when I was first married (which was, coincidentally, within months of when Brett Favre was moved up to starting quarterback). Anyway, I’m quite excited about Sunday’s championship game. Sure have enjoyed a lot of exciting sports in the past few months! Wouldn’t it be funny if, after my baseball team won the World Series last fall, my late-adopted football team would win the Superbowl? šŸ˜‰

Ah, I’m sure there are other things on my mind too, but I’m outta time. Have a great day!

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Angie permalink
    January 21, 2011 8:21 am

    Go Packers!

  2. January 26, 2011 11:26 am

    Geof and I read and enjoyed a lot of Ron Hansen in NE. Would love to discuss him w you!

    • January 26, 2011 11:36 am

      Ana – you’re the one who first introduced me to Ron Hansen and I still have Atticus and Mariette in Ecstasy that I have to return to you! Thanks so much for the introduction!!! šŸ™‚ Would love to chat with you about his writings some day.

Leave a Reply

