Skip to content

Jumping Ship

November 15, 2010

…from Facebook that is.

There are a number of things that have been bugging me about Facebook for awhile. The biggest one is security. It’s not so much that I’m afraid of having stuff “out there” online. I’ve got a lot of stuff online. But the Facebook powers-that-be have really bad attitudes about people’s privacy and security. They kind of lost me when they stopped letting us control what gets posted to our own wall.

There’s another thing, though, that I only just started unraveling recently. I’ve known for a long time that Facebook has had a negative effect on my blogging (and I miss blogging!), but it only recently occurred to me that part of the reason is that it has had a tendency to make me overly-categorize my writing. I’ve grown accustomed to thinking that Facebook is for little updates on the family and the blog is for well thought-out essay-like posts with a beautifully wrapped up point to it. While I have appropriate sorts of topics drifting through my head fairly regularly, I rarely have time to begin such a post, much less edit it to the perfection that my ideals insist upon.

Blogging on Studeo, particularly in the early days, was more informal and often a lot shorter than that (and I have to admit that I’m a fan of short blog posts). So I’m going to attempt to turn a page backwards and readjust my attitudes about blogging. Wish me luck! šŸ™‚

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 9:47 am

    I am glad. I do fb here and there– but I love being a daily blogger.

  2. November 15, 2010 9:49 am

    Sounds like a great plan … I’m on FB only to keep up with far-flung family … but I’ll be looking forward to more of your blog posts!

    Blessings and hugs ….
    M

  3. November 15, 2010 9:51 am

    I have never entered the FB world. Dh had huge concerns about security, but I also had the same concerns as you. I do notice that I’m out of the loop about a lot of things, but it’s freeing in a way…. I don’t need to know all the intricate details and all the sales and discounts and such. I need to filter the online world a bit!

Leave a Reply

