Skip to content

7 Quick Takes Friday

October 15, 2010

1. I’m liking WordPress so far. Not only is the editing package much better than blogger, but the way it handles comments is amazing. Built-in spam control, but, even better, once I approve someone’s comment for publication, the rest of their comments are automatically accepted. Perfect for my needs.

2. Readers of my old blog will likely remember that our family has long been involved in our local public library. (Library posts on Studeo can be found here.) I was in fact, secretary of the friends board for many years. Well, they just asked me to be president and I accepted. Fortunately, it’s not a large jump in responsibilities from my current activities. Should be interesting!

3. Cynicism alert: I think last night was the first time I’ve ever laughed my way through (all the way through!) a tragic movie scene. It happened this way. I said to John: “Watch, she just finished the song, so now he’s gonna fall over dead.” And he did! Haven’t laughed that hard in a long time. Hmph. (Dare I share the name of the movie? You tell me.)

4. I’ve really been enjoying Fr. James Martin’s My Life with the Saints… at least the parts I didn’t fall asleep during (I’ve been listening to it on audio, mostly in bed while I was sick, and have to figure out how to catch up on the parts I missed.) I first saw Fr. Martin on the Colbert Report and have been meaning to pick up the book for quite a long time. I’ve also been intrigued by the title of his more recent book The Jesuit Guide to Almost Everything, which I saw in an airport bookstore on my way home from the Kentucky Catholic homeschool conference back in June. Because of cost factors, however, I passed it up in favor of a less-expensive paperback, Malcolm Gladwell’s The Tipping Point (which was quite good!).

5. Yesterday was the feast of St. Callistus, a pope and martyr of the early church. Our pastor, who sort of specializes in the saints, was telling us in the homily about the fierce St. Callistus and St. Hippolytus. You can read more about Callistus (and Hippolytus) in the old Catholic Encyclopedia entry here. I always find it comforting to remember how “normal” it is for the Church to struggle through the ages, and how the essence remains in spite of all the muck. Reminds me of something I heard Archbishop Dolan say on Relevant Radio a few years back: “Church history gives you remarkable serenity.”

6. The kids and I enjoyed watching the rescue of the Chilean Miners on the Internet. We kept it on in the background throughout the day and came running back to watch when we heard the sirens (that apparently signaled the capsule approaching the surface). We made an attempt to translate the words on their t-shirts (but could only read small parts of it at a time – but I just found the story of the t-shirts here). I heard all about how some of the miners had mistresses waiting for them when they returned, but I was particularly moved by an apparently more faithful couple. The wife was clutching a blanket emblazoned with an image of Our Lady of Guadalupe while waiting for her husband’s return. As soon as he emerged from the capsule, he fell to his knees (I thought for a second that he had collapsed) in prayer and it was there that his wife met him with tears and hugs. Very sweet!

7. In honor of today’s feast of St. Teresa of Avila, I thought I’d share an old family photo (shared before on Studeo, but it’s been many years – and now I know their names!) of my great-great grandparents (and my mom’s godparents), Francesco and Josephina Rosa (not entirely sure of the spelling) all decked out in their third-order Carmelite garb. My mom recently contacted the church where she was baptized to find out her baptismal day and also learned their names. Happy Feast Day!

 

And a bonus #8 today. Can’t believe I forgot to mention how excited I am that my San Francisco Giants are in the pennant race this year! Blog background is colored black and orange for the occasion. Been waiting a long time to experience a post-Barry-Bonds post-season! Amazing how baseball-free Wisconsin is during the post-season. Had to purchase the $10 post-season package from postseason.tv since we don’t have cable and the games haven’t even been available on the radio. Go Giants!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2010 12:10 pm

    What a great picture of your great great grandparents!

  2. October 15, 2010 8:26 pm

    I’m really gonna have to know the name of that movie …. šŸ™‚

    • October 16, 2010 7:13 am

      LOL. It was the Last Song, based on the Nicholas Sparks book (which I read and rather liked – and we loved the movie Walk to Remember). This movie was just bad.

  3. October 16, 2010 8:04 am

    Thanks for satisfying my curiosity! šŸ™‚ Reminds me of the Nicholas Cage/Meg Ryan movie — he was an angel who became human (urgh — let’s talk about the theology behind that one) in order to be with her and you just knew she was going to die right away. Yup. She did.

    I enjoyed The Tipping Point, too, and all of Gladwell’s stuff, really. Except his latest. I just wasn’t as taken by it.

    And also want to get Fr. Martin’s new book.

    Thanks, too, for the story behind those t-shirts.

    • October 16, 2010 9:48 am

      šŸ™‚

      Which one was his (Malcolm Gladwell’s) latest?

      Since you were interested in the t-shirt story, Ria said she heard that Pope Benedict sent rosaries to the miners which they had with them for quite some time and apparently all of them ended up praying the rosary every day! I’ll have to ask her where she read that. I would definitely like to know more!

      • October 17, 2010 5:26 pm

        His latest is “What the Dog Saw” — just not as compelling to me as the first three.

        Oh, yes, definitely let me know if you find out more about the Rosary story! That’s great!

Leave a Reply

