Skip to content

My Grandma’s Potato Pancake Recipe

October 9, 2010
tags:

(March 31, 2009)

I haven’t tried this yet, but figured this would be a good place to save it (and someone else may enjoy it as well). This is from a letter written by my aunt. By the way, this a recipe from my Grandma Lawless, who I never met, because she died several years before I was born.

I finally figured it out, and it needs to have good old “Russet” (Idaho)
potatoes. They are good and starchy which is key. I had tried it with “New”
potatoes and that, I think, was the main problem. So now I’ve done it this
way twice and I think my Mom would approve. This makes enough for two, it’s
also a good size for testing to see if you’re happy with them then adjust
for the size of your family.

POTATO PANCAKES

1 Egg
1/2 Cup chopped onion
1/2 Cup milk
1/2 Cup all purpose flour
1 Extra large baking potato diced medium
Couple shakes of salt

The potatoes I used both times are the really huge size, they don’t sell
these in bags, but you can adjust for that.

In a blender put the egg, milk and onion and puree it. Add the flour and
blend, then the potatoes and salt. Pulse this a few times until it looks like a rough pancake batter. Using a ladle, pour onto a hot, lightly oiled griddle, and with the back of the ladle spread batter out very thin.

If you are using a dark Teflon griddle you will see the darkness through
parts of the pancake. Watch closely they cook pretty fast. Turn when nice and brown, cook other side until it looks like a flour tortilla. That’s it.
Put on a dish, spread with butter, roll up like an enchilada, and pour a
ribbon of syrup over it. Yum yum.

I wouldn’t use self rising flour because they aren’t supposed to rise like a
regular pancake. When finished they are the thickness of a flour tortilla and look like one on the second side. I make mine round, in a frying pan but for efficient use of space when using a griddle Mom made them in rectangles.

It’s scary to think Mom’s recipe almost vanished!

UPDATE from March 6, 2010:

The Recipe that Almost Died (A Google Story)

Once upon a time, about a year ago, in fact, my aunt decided to try to resurrect her mother’s potato pancake recipe. After trying it out to be sure it tasted just the way she remembered it tasted, she sent it out to our extended family e-mail list, explaining at the end that, “It’s scary to think Mom’s recipe almost vanished!”

I was interested in trying it sometime so decided to post it here to Studeo for my own convenience. (Recipe here.)

Well, the recipe didn’t die (and we tried it and liked it and have made it several times – we’re looking forward to making it soon with some homemade maple syrup from our own trees).

Well, anyway, if you Google “Potato Pancake Recipe” right now, you’ll find that it’s #1. Yep, right above the recipes from allrecipes.com, cooks.com, epicurious.com and foodnetwork.com.

And I suspect that somewhere, up there, Grandma is smiling. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

