Skip to content

Frankly Speaking: Catch-up Edition

October 9, 2010

These are a few of my favorite “Frankly Speaking” posts (funny quotes from our youngest, “Frank”) from the old blog plus a few never seen before outside of Facebook:

September 29, 2010:

Frank was hanging out at a friend’s house last week (as reported by the friend): “Frank informed us that he was tall for his age, and so was Bernie,
quoting how many inches taller than average. I asked him how much over average Gus was. He said, ‘Gus is man-year over-average tall.'” (Note: Gus, age 15, is over 6 feet and growing!)

September 28, 2010:

Kate and Frank are playing out on the driveway. Kate is on rollerblades “flying” Frank’s long-broken remote control airplane with her. Frank is running behind, (broken) remote control in hand, shouting out directions to Kate.

September 24, 2010:

“Mommy, I need Kate to move to another spot because she’s monkeyer than I am.” (Or something to that effect – Frank translated himself as meaning that she’s really good at gymnastics.)

September 18, 2010:

Kate (age 8 in full pout mode): “Mommy,Frankย  promised he would pretend to be Ares, but now he said he wouldn’t pretend to be Ares unless I pretend to pour mustard on him.”

April 26, 2010:

After putting on a bright red Hawaiian shirt (complete with surfboards and palm trees) for a trip to Grandma and Grandpa’s for dinner a few nights ago, Frank confidently announced, “I look handsome in Venice.”

March 29, 2010:

The other day I was talking to Kate and Frank (now 8 and 6 years old) about the difference between animals and people. I asked them if they knew what the difference was. Kate replied, “Animals can’t go to heaven.” Frank answered, “People are the only ones with two legs and animals just make noises and don’t talk.”

LOL.

Well, we talked a lot, about how birds have two legs like people, etc. and I ended up also asking them if they knew what a soul was. Kate said, “The soul is the part of you that goes to heaven.” Frank concurred and added, “It’s the Saint part.” When I asked him what he meant, he said that “The soul is the part that goes to Heaven and when you get to Heaven you’re a Saint.”

________

I was reading a religion book to Frank this evening and asked him about what he can do with the body that God gave him. He answered: “You can live! You can run. You can love people. You can go to Heaven. And you can even jump.”

๐Ÿ™‚

September 14, 2009:

Speaking to Ria: “Trading is kind of like a good kind of revenge.”

July 10, 2009:

I was talking with Frank this afternoon about how food and exercise give you energy and make you strong. So I asked him what would happen if you sat around and watched T.V. all the time and only ate ice cream and soda. He answered:

“You’d get a terrible cold.”

October 22, 2008:

Today I had Frank with me as I ran some errands, which included pointing out an apartment that John and I had lived in when Ria was a baby. Frank had a little trouble wrapping his head around this concept at first, but finally acknowledged, “Oh! You mean before we were made.”

Thinking this was cute, I added a bonus question: “Who made you?” To which the answer was, of course, God.

Chit-chat proceeded for a few minutes until it naturally flowed away from theology and into (what sounded to me like) more practical matters. Soon I found myself asking him another question that flowed naturally from the conversation: “What are you made of?”

He proudly and confidently answered: “Nothing!” ๐Ÿ™‚

October 19, 2008:

Frank: “Mommy, do you know why they call Halloween ‘Halloween’? Because we put pumpkins on the porch and the pumpkins are hollow.”

Frank: “Mommy, do you know why little people have more birthdays than big people? Because if you have too many birthdays, then you die.”

October 11, 2008:

Here are two funnies from Frank today:

This morning I found a large ugly bug behind the bathroom door and called for some assistance in removing it. Frank immediately piped up from the hallway that he’d take care of it and asked how big it was. I hesitated, but answered in my typically silly way, “Well, it’s not as big as you.” He answered with seriousness and just a hint of competence: “Oh, that’s a daddy long-legs. They don’t hurt you!”

Tonight Frank asked Daddy: “Daddy, can my dinner be for my lunch?”

September 25, 2008:

Last month our family went to Mass with my brother-in-law and his family as we were planning on going to brunch afterwards. They sat in the row immediately in front of us (along with the Van Hecke grandparents). As we had a very tight spot (we were a little on the late side), my little girls moved up to sit with grandma and grandpa (admittedly, they probably would have done this even if there was more room!) and Frank wanted to get in on the act.

He walked around the other side of the pew and sat down right next to Uncle David. David related this story to us afterwards: He had whispered to Frank (somewhat in greeting), “Did your family come, or are you here by yourself?” Frank simply looked up at David and said…

“Nice tie!”

August 30, 2008:

All foods are either “tasty” or “sweet”. Sweet foods (which include such divergent selections as fried rice or macaroni and cheese) are not be consumed at night because they’ll keep him awake. He did explain once that macaroni and cheese had too much sugar in it to be eaten before bedtime. Tasty foods, on the other hand, are quite safe before bedtime and, in fact, help him to go to sleep. These include things like salt and pepper potato chips and a wide variety of other foods that I can’t recall at the moment.

Use Hyperbole wherever possible as in the following example:

“She’s the naughtiest girl in the WORLD!”

Be optimistic:

“It’s a really good thing I didn’t drop my OTHER chopstick on the floor too!” (Overheard at a Chinese restaurant last night)

August 14, 2008:

Frank just walked in and showed me a baby carrot he was about to eat and explained, “I didn’t ask for this one. You know why? Remember, I put some carrots in the fridge tomorrow and it’s one of those.”

Other recent stories:

From Ria: Apparently Frank gets frustrated when people interrupt him (who wouldn’t?) and complains that they’re “breaking the story.”

Frank was talking with Ria and Gus about his bed. He said he’d sleep in his bed forever and ever. Ria asked him what he’d do when he went to college. He said, as if they ought to have known better, “You don’t sleep in college!”

Yesterday, Ria and Gus and I were watching an apologetics DVD with some friends when Frank happened to walk through. Someone on the DVD was talking figuratively about the breath of God (I don’t remember the exact context). Frank looked up and casually remarked:
“When God breathes, it’s a windy day.”

July 31, 2008:

When hearing about a baby shower the girls in the family will be attending this weekend…

“Gus and I will stay home and take a bath.”

After tasting Macaroni and Cheese made by Terri and Bernie…

“This is WAY too cheesy. That makes me stay up late cuz it has sugar in it.”

Recent questions he’s asked:

“How do we get to sleep when we’re in Heaven?”

“Why can’t I see my nose?”

“How did Jesus go up into Heaven if he didn’t have wings?”

March 27, 2008:

Today Kate and Terri got into a kerfuffle over our old mattress which is presently located on the living room floor. Terri, Bernie and Gus were relaxing on the mattress, reading a book out loud to each other and Terri, ever the one to try to enforce reasonable rules unreasonably, got Kate to “promise” to stop jumping on the mattress (without promising anything in return). Kate immediately broke her “promise” and the rest of the kids were up in arms over it.

Frank charged fiercely upstairs to exclaim his indignation to me:

“Mommmy! Kate promised she wouldn’t jump on the bed and … and … she broke her mind!!!”

March 5, 2008:

Frank was helping me de-ice the front walk over the weekend. I got this wonderful new ice smasher and there was 2-3 inches of ice, so I broke the ice up into chunks and Frank picked the ice up with his shovel and threw it onto the “lawn”. 

Not quite sure why this caused him to share this observation…

“Mommy, now I big enough to climb Rount Mushmore!”

February 12, 2008:
Frank boasted this morning: “I really strong! I can break nuffing (nothing)!”
January 11, 2008:
I was carrying Kate on my back today and managed to slip – getting a major rug-burn on my legs. (Kate, however, bounced immediatley back up and giggled – after flying over my head!). I was lying in bed, resting my legs, when Frank brought in a juice box with apple juice in it. 

“Here. This is to feel your legs more better.”

When we giggled, he very smartly added…

“When you drink it!”

November 26, 2007:
For some reason, Frank’s favorite tidbit of wisdom that he’s been mentioning a lot this week is: 

“It’s bery nice dat God made us!”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2010 7:01 pm

    Yay! You’re back! And the comments are open!

    I wanted to say over at Studeo, don’t you dare delete that blog and PLEASE leave it up as a resource.

    Thank you for taking my request. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. October 9, 2010 7:35 pm

    Frank is HYSTERICAL!! So glad to see you back! And I second Margaret’s request, don’t take Studeo down, so much good stuff ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. October 9, 2010 7:45 pm

    I second the Yay! So glad you’re here. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. October 9, 2010 8:42 pm

    Aw – thanks all. It’s lovely to be back and even lovelier to have you drop by to visit. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

